The Solar Decathlon China competition consists of 10 separately scored contests, and some contests contain one or more subcontests. Contests based on jury evaluation are called juried contests; contests based on task completion or monitored performance are called measured contests.

1. Architecture

2. Market Appeal

3. Engineering

4. Communications

5. Innovation

6. Comfort Zone

7. Appliances

8. Home Life

9. Commuting

10. Energy

Teams can earn points three ways:

  1. Jury Evaluation
    Jurors who are experts in fields, such as architecture, engineering, homebuilding, water use and reuse, and communications, award points for features that cannot be measured, such as aesthetics, design inspiration and innovation.
  2. Monitored Performance
    Team houses and appliances perform to specified criteria, such as maintaining indoor temperature and humidity within a tight range, ensuring refrigerators maintain appropriate temperatures, and carefully controlling the flow of electricity between the house and the utility.
  3. Task Completion
    Teams complete tasks that simulate modern living. They perform household chores such as cooking and doing laundry. They host dinner parties and game nights for fellow competitors. And, they are required to log miles driving an electric vehicle charged by the house's solar electric system.